For fans of THE SHINING, Stephen King just released a sequel novel. Here is the description from Simon & Schuster:


DOCTOR SLEEP (2013) - Stephen King returns to the character and territory of one of his most popular novels ever, The Shining, in this instantly riveting novel about the now middle-aged Dan Torrance and the very special twelve-year-old girl he must save from a tribe of murderous paranormals.

THE SHINING (1980)

After watching the documentary ROOM 237 (see Oct. 5, 2013), how could I NOT re-watch Stanley Kubrick’s horror masterwork THE SHINING? I must have seen this movie at least 20 times or more over my lifetime and it truly doesn’t get much better than this in the horror genre.
 
First off, you have a truly haunting story thanks to Stephen King’s genre-defining source material. Yes, the film veers quite considerably at times from the book, but it should be viewed as its own entity (Watch Mick Garris’ 1997 TV mini-series if you want to see a more faithful adaptation). Couple this with a true auteur like Kubrick and it’s going to be something special and more importantly timeless.
 
From frame one, the ominous tone is set and it never lets up. At almost 2 and a half hours, the film takes its time to draw you in to bare witness to the Overlook’s Hotel’s new caretaker’s decent into madness. And Jack Nicholson “plays crazy” better than most. It’s a truly frightening portrayal as he becomes more and more unhinged. A performance that doesn’t lose any of its impact no matter how many times you see it or even how many times it’s been parodied over the years.
 
The elements of horror throughout don’t disappoint and Kubrick never relies on boo scares. He gives us visuals that are truly horrific accompanied by an oppressive score from composer Wendy Carlos that is frightening to listen to unto itself.
 
I don’t really have much more to say about the film other than if you haven’t seen it, stop what you’re doing and watch it. Even seen in the middle of the day with all the lights on, the unrelenting horror that is THE SHINING seeps under your skin and never lets go.


OCTOBER 6, 2013